Who is Jorja Smith

Jorja Smith is a Grammy-nominated English singer-songwriter from Walsall, West Midlands. Jorja has released several singles since January 2016 and collaborated with other artists including Drake, Kali Uchis, and Stormzy. She released her debut extended play, Projects 11, in November 2016. In 2018, she won the Brit Critic’s Choice Award. Her debut studio album, Lost & Found, was released in June 2018 and peaked at number three on the UK Albums Chart.

Jorja Smith

Where it all began

Jorja began taking piano lessons at a very young age at the encouragement of her father. She went on to receive a music scholarship at Aldridge School, where she studied classical singing, before taking music for her A-level exams.


She was scouted by a manager at the age of 15 after uploading videos of herself singing cover songs on YouTube. Shortly after, she began travelling to London for writing sessions with Maverick Sabre and Ed Thomas, while still in school. After graduation, she moved to London at the age of 18 where she supported herself by working as a barista, and continued to write songs.

Jorja Smith

Debut single

In January 2016 she released her debut single “Blue Lights”, on SoundCloud the song earned about 400 000 on the website within a month.

Her second single “Where Did I Go?” was singled out by Drake as his favourite track of the moment in Entertainment Weekly in July 2016. In November that year she released her four-track debut extended play, Projects 11. The same month Jorja was selected as one of the fifteen rising acts on BBC Music’s Sound of 2017 long list, where she finished fourth.

Jorja Smith


Jorja has a long list of achievements some of which include being a special guest on Drake’s Boy Meets World Tour in 2017, featured on his mixtape More Life, performing as the opening act on Bruno Mar’s 24k Magic World Tour, being the first independent artist to be nominated for the Brit Critic’s Choice Award and winning.

Her debut studio album, Lost & Found, written over a five year period, was announced in April and released in June 2018. Shortly after the release of the album Jorja started an album tour.

Jorja Smith

Lost & Found song list:

  1. Lost & Found
  2. Teenage Fantasy
  3. Where Did I Go?
  4. February 3rd
  5. On Your Own
  6. The One
  7. Wandering Romance
  8. Blue Lights
  9. Lifeboats (Freestyle)
  10. Goodbyes
  11. Tomorrow
  12. Don’t Watch Me Cry

It is safe to say that Jorja has amazing music considering that 99% of Google users liked her album. So, it is not just us.

It is 2019 and Jorja is starting the year with a bang with a nomination for British Breakthrough act at the upcoming 2019 Brit Awards.Click the highlighted link to vote for Jorja Smith. Fingers crossed!

Stay TrendE